The UK's No. 1 Farm Business Event

Call for entrants: Scottish Arable Farm of the Year Award

The AgriScot Scottish Arable Farm of the Year Award, revived for 2021 following a lockdown enforced absence last year, is now open for nominations and entries.

The award, first made in 2017, has traditionally looked for entries later in the summer, with on farm assessor visits taking place in October. This year, however, organisers have decided to open up the award earlier, so that farms that have made the final short list can be visited pre-harvest.

AgriScot Director and Arable award convenor, John Kinnaird, commented:

“We are absolutely delighted that we are once again able to run the Scottish Arable Farm of the Year Award. It is great to be working alongside Chris Leslie at AHDB as facilitator and SoilEssentials, our sponsor, to launch the 2021 award.”

“We are now calling for nominations and entries over the next month or so, and our assessors aim to then produce a short list of three farms to visit in July. This timing is new for 2021, but we believe it gives farmers a better opportunity to show crops and farms looking at their best at a potentially less busy time of year.”

“Previously, the Scottish Arable Farm of the Year award has gone to farms in Aberdeenshire, Ross-shire and Fife. We are very keen to encourage other farms in those areas to put themselves forward, or indeed to hear from agronomists, machinery suppliers and others – anonymously if necessary – who wish to nominate their customers, clients and neighbours as deserving of the 2021 title.”

“I am also doubly keen to hear about worthy farms of the year in the renowned arable areas in the south of Scotland, surely there are more than a few. That said, our task is not to reward the best farms with the easiest soils and friendliest climates; what we are looking for are farms demonstrating that they are doing their very best with what they have!”

John Kinnaird will be joined by John Weir, from 2019 Scottish Arable Farm of the Year, Lacceston in Fife, to assess this year’s entries.

The roll call of previous arable farm of the year award recipients represents a fair spread of the arable areas of Scotland:

  • 2017 South Redbog, Strichen, Aberdeenshire
  • 2018 Rhynie House, Tain, Ross-shire
  • 2019 Lacesston, Gateside, Fife

If you wish to enter or nominate a farm please email to request an entry form.  Please note the deadline for submissions is 28 June.

The awards will be presented as part of AgriScot on 17th November.

Sign up today for free and be the first to get notified on new updates.
* indicates required