The UK's No. 1 Farm Business Event

Call for entrants: Scottish Arable Farm of the Year Award

The AgriScot Scottish Arable Farm of the Year Award, 2022 is now open for nominations and entries.

The award, first made in 2017, has traditionally looked for entries later in the summer, with on farm assessor visits taking place in October. This year, however, organisers have decided to open up the award earlier, so that farms that have made the final short list can be visited pre-harvest.

AgriScot Director and Arable award convenor, John Weir, commented:

“We are absolutely delighted that we are once again able to run the Scottish Arable Farm of the Year Award. It is great to be working alongside AHDB as facilitators and SoilEssentials, our sponsor, to launch this year’s award.”

“We are calling for nominations and entries over the next six weeks, and our assessors aim to then produce a short list of three farms to visit in July. This timing is new for 2022, but we believe it gives farmers a better opportunity to show crops and farms looking at their best at a potentially less busy time of year.”

“The 2021 Arable Farm of the Year award was awarded to Preston Hall farm in Midlothian with the other two shortlisted farms both hailing from Aberdeenshire so this year we are keen to encourage farms from all over mainland Scotland and the Islands to put themselves forward, or to hear from agronomists, machinery suppliers and others – anonymously if necessary – who wish to nominate their customers, clients and neighbours as deserving of the 2022 title.”

John Weir will be joined by Bill Gray from Preston Hall farm, holder of the current title of Arable Farm of the Year, to assess this year’s entries.

Gregor Welsh, General Manager at SoilEssentials and sponsors of the award is pleased to be involved. “We are continually fascinated by the award finalists, having the insight into their individual farming businesses and inspiring stories each year, so we would actively encourage submissions from the length and breadth of Scotland.”

The roll call of previous arable farm of the year award recipients represents a fair spread of the arable areas of Scotland:

  • 2017 South Redbog, Strichen, Aberdeenshire
  • 2018 Rhynie House, Tain, Ross-shire
  • 2019 Lacesston, Gateside, Fife
  • 2021 Preston Hall, Midlothian

If you wish to nominate a farm, please email

Application forms can be requested via the same e-mail address or downloaded here

Please note the deadline for submissions is 20 June.

The awards will be presented as part of AgriScot on 16 November at the Royal Highland Centre, Ingliston.

Sign up today for free and be the first to get notified on new updates.
* indicates required